Uncategorized

Change For the Sake of Change?

I Like Changes. I won’t say that I’ve been a “change for the sake of change” kind of gal. Most changes need to make some semblance of reason. So, in that mode, I can say, I Like Changes.

However, I don’t like changes that make no sense. I think I can safely say that I never have. Even as a child, my favorite word was, “Why?” If I didn’t get an answer that made sense, I resented the change and the person enforcing the changes.

In this case, it’s changes at the Valley River Center mall. I noticed it with a restaurant that’s been at VRC for 36 years. I used to go there all the time when I worked at the mall. Saturday, my daugher and I were going to go for lunch because they have the most marvelous Monte Cristo sandwiches. It was closed. As in the lights were dark, the chairs were gone from the railing, and it was closed.

After a little digging online? It was an abrupt closure. The mall management didn’t give them a new lease due in February. No explanation why not, either. So, they closed.

There’s a new mall manager. Apparently, she’s gutting – Freudian slip that I’ll let stand (meant to say “cutting”) – right and left. She’s refusing to renew the leases of a few stores that have been there since the mall opened in the 1970s (a jewelry store among those). Three somewhat newer stores that I used to go to are gone; two stores catering to the Millennials are gone; and the food court looks like a ghost town with only seven places open.

I wonder if she’s trying to prove herself to her company? New managers tend to do that. New mall managers are even worse. But, in making certain cuttings, she’s bound to shoot herself in the foot!

It can’t be that the non-renewed places weren’t making money for the mall. If they aren’t making money for themselves, they wouldn’t be in business. So, they’re obviously making money for the mall.

Hence the changes that make no sense to many of the rest of us.

Okay, I get that management of any business isn’t required to tell the rest of their patrons why they’re making the changes. But, when the changes drive away your potential customers? Time to think twice about remaining silent. There’s no need for a huge, legalese-filled document to explain your position. All she’d really need to do is give an interview in the local paper. It would go far to alleviating fears that the place is becoming too focused on a one subset of buyers.

Changes for the sake of real change is good. Changes for the sake of change (or to prove something) isn’t.

 

Standard